Posted on

How could you have any pudding if you don’t eat your meat?

1. In the Flesh? – 0:00
2. The Thin Ice – 3:25
3. Another Brick in the Wall (Part 1) – 5:52
4. The Happiest Days of Our Lives – 9:29
5. Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2) – 10:50
6. Mother – 14:50
7. Goodbye Blue Sky – 20:48
8. Empty Spaces – 24:00
9. Young Lust – 25:20
10. One of My Turns – 28:52
11. Don’t Leave Me Now – 32:27
12. Another Brick in the Wall (Part 3) – 36:49
13. Goodbye Cruel World – 37:58
14. Hey You – 39:13
15. Is There Anybody Out There? – 44:20
16. Nobody Home – 46:51
17. Vera – 50:20
18. Bring the Boys Back Home – 51:35
19. Comfortably Numb – 52:58
20. The Show Must Go On – 59:23
21. In the Flesh – 1:01:02
22. Run Like Hell – 1:05:23
23. Waiting for the Worms – 1:09:42
24. Stop – 1:13:37
25. The Trial – 1:14:10
26. Outside the Wall – 1:19:28

The Wall is the eleventh studio album by English progressive rock group Pink Floyd. Released as a double album on 30 November 1979, it was subsequently performed live with elaborate theatrical effects, and adapted into a feature film, Pink Floyd – The Wall.

As with the band’s previous three studio albums The Wall is a concept album, and deals largely with themes of abandonment and personal isolation. It was first conceived during the band’s 1977 In the Flesh Tour, when bassist and lyricist Roger Waters‘s frustration with the spectators’ perceived boorishness became so acute that he imagined building a wall between the performers and audience. The album is a rock opera that centres on Pink, a character based on Waters or possibly even Syd Barrett. Pink’s life experiences begin with the loss of his father during the Second World War, and continue with ridicule and abuse from his schoolteachers, an overprotective mother and finally, the breakdown of his marriage. All contribute to his eventual self-imposed isolation from society, represented by a metaphorical wall.

The Wall features a notably harsher and more theatrical style than Pink Floyd’s previous releases. Keyboardist Richard Wright left the band during the album’s production but remained as a salaried musician, performing with Pink Floyd during The Wall Tour. Commercially successful upon its release, the album was one of the best selling of 1980, and as of 1999, it had sold over 23 million RIAA certified units (11.5 million albums) in the United States. Rolling Stone magazine placed The Wall at number 87 on its list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

Well... Don't Just Sit There! Say Somethin', Bitch!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s